WXYZ's Chuck Stokes, prominent honorees receive awards at National Philanthropy Day Dinner

See full list of honorees
chuck stokes and family
Screen Shot 2022-02-14 at 11.05.25 AM.png
Posted at 9:00 AM, Nov 02, 2022
and last updated 2022-11-03 23:23:54-04

(WXYZ) — Channel 7 Editorial Director Chuck Stokes was among those honored by the Association of Fundraising Professionals as part of their National Philanthropy Day commemorations on Thursday.

Stokes has been named the winner of the Neal Shine Award for Commitment to Media in Philanthropy by the organization.

The other honorees named by the organization are:

  • Carla Walker-Miller Founder & CEO, Walker-Miller Energy - Max M. Fisher Award for Outstanding Philanthropist
  • John Carter – Edward T. Ahee Jewel Award for Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser
  • Ben Maibach, Chief Community Officer, Barton Marlow Company - George W. Romney Award for Lifetime Achievement in Volunteerism
  • Dennis Archer, Chairman & CEO, Dennis W. Archer PLLC; Chairman Emeritus Chairman, Dickinson Wright, PLLC - Spirit of Philanthropy Award
  • David Ripple, Vice President of Philanthropy, Trinity Health Michigan-Southeast Region - Dr. John S. Lore Award for Outstanding Fundraiser
  • Peter Remington, Founder & CEO, The Remington Group - Special Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership in Philanthropy
  • DTE Energy – Outstanding Corporation Award
  • The Vera and Joseph Dresner Foundation – Outstanding Foundation Award
  • Jeremiah Steen, Director, Steen Foundation - Sparky Anderson Award for Youth in Philanthropy

The awards were presented Thursday evening at the National Philanthropy Day Dinner at MotorCity Casino Hotel in Detroit.
Proceeds from the National Philanthropy Day Dinner will benefit the AFP Greater Detroit’s education, scholarship, and diversity programs promoting high ethical standards in fundraising. National Philanthropy Day was established by the Association for Fundraising Professionals in 1985 to celebrate the nationwide efforts of philanthropists for their many significant contributions.

Sponsorship opportunities are available at: or by contacting Sponsorship Chair Rebecca Hepner at: or (248) 892-6355.